SATW Schweizerische Akademie der Technischen Wissenschaften St. Annagasse 18 8001 Zürich +41 44 226 50 11 info@satw.ch www.satw.ch

Media Release

Eminent engineering scientists SATW welcomes 13 new members

Zurich, 2 May 2022. This year, the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences SATW has added thirteen new Full Members to its network. Each possesses an impressive track record in the engineering sciences.

SATW is a network of key figures from science and industry. Individuals who make a special contribution to furthering SATW's goals and/or the engineering sciences can be elected Full Members. All members are elected in a secret ballot of eligible voters in a procedure directed by the Nomination Committee.

Thirteen new Full Members were elected in 2022, as a result of which SATW now has a total of 333 Full and 28 Corresponding Members, as well as 11 Honorary Members. The new members' election will be marked at the General Meeting on 3 May by a certificate presentation ceremony.

Full Members

Prof. Dr. Emanuele Carpanzano was elected...

... in recognition of his commitment to promoting automation and digitalisation in academic and industrial settings and his key contributions to research and teaching and the transfer of innovative technologies.

Dr. Djordje Filipovic was elected...

... in recognition of his exceptional contributions to the development and commercialisation of medical innovations and as an entrepreneur in the pharmaceutical industry.

Jean-Philippe Fricker was elected...

... in recognition of his multidisciplinary and revolutionary contributions to the system architecture of highly integrated circuits for deep learning algorithms and innovative system integration spanning several orders of magnitude.



Prof. Dr. Stefanie Hellweg was elected...

...in recognition of her outstanding contributions to methods for evaluating and improving the environmental impact of technical systems and to the methodological refinement of life cycle analyses.

Dr. Andrea Leu was elected...

...in recognition of her long-standing involvement in the STEM disciplines, particularly her commitment to encouraging young engineering talent in Switzerland.

Prof. Dr. Marco Mazzotti was elected ...

...in recognition of his outstanding achievements in teaching and research and in implementing engineering solutions to minimise CO_2 emissions.

Dr. Alexandre Pauchard was elected...

...in recognition of his successful technology-spanning innovations in optoelectronic components and his contribution to digitalisation in industry.

Prof. Dr. Sylvie Roke was elected ...

...in recognition of her groundbreaking development of new optical measuring methods for characterising microsystems and nano systems in aqueous environments which are suitable for use in biology, chemistry and physics.

Prof. Dr. René Rossi was elected ...

...in recognition of his outstanding achievements in textiles research, which have laid the foundations for novel health technologies, and for his dedication in transferring the knowledge he generated to innovative products.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Justus Schmidt was elected...

...in recognition of his exceptional achievements in electrochemistry, including important discoveries in the fields of electrochemical materials, cells and energy conversion and storage devices.

Prof. Dr. Albert van den Berg was elected...

...in recognition of his outstanding scientific accomplishments in microfluidic systems suitable for use in biomolecular diagnostics and the successful innovations based on this technology.

Prof. Dr. Vanessa Wood was elected ...

...in recognition of her innovative and outstanding research work on visualising, quantifying and elucidating transport processes in new materials and also in recognition of her academic leadership in the engineering sciences.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Zurbuchen was elected...

...in recognition of his extraordinary engineering achievements in developing scientific instruments for space missions and as Associate Administrator of the Science Mission Directorate at NASA, the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Contact

Esther Lombardini | +41 44 226 50 27 | esther.lombardini@satw.ch

SATW – it's all about technology

The Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences SATW is the most important network of experts for engineering sciences in Switzerland and is in contact with the highest Swiss bodies for science, politics and industry. The network comprises elected individual members, member organisations and experts. SATW identifies industrially relevant technological developments on behalf of the Swiss Confederation and informs the government and public about their significance and consequences. As a unique expert organisation with high credibility, it conveys independent and objective information on technology as the basis for establishing informed opinions. SATW also promotes interest in and understanding of technology among the general population and particularly among young people. It is politically independent and non-commercial. www.satw.ch